HighSchoolOT Honors Returns for Spring Sports

HighSchoolOT Honors Awards presented by Pella Windows & Doors is launching for spring! Starting today, nominations are open for the best and brightest student athletes in central and eastern North Carolina, who play the following sports: Baseball, Lacrosse, Track & Field, Men’s Golf, Women’s Soccer, Softball and Men’s Tennis. You can check out the finalists for winter in our recap.

For the 2018-19 awards, HighSchoolOT is outdoing last year’s event. On June 15, WRAL TV’s Jeff Gravley and HighSchoolOT’s Nick Stevens will co-host the ESPYs-like awards event at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts in downtown Raleigh. Athletes will enter the auditorium like celebrities, and leave with the recognition they’ve earned with their hard work.

A Homegrown Superstar Guest Speaker

Nyheim Hines, running back for the Indianapolis Colts and former offensive lineman for NC State University and Garner High School, will be our guest speaker for the evening. A Q&A led by Jeff Gravley and Nick Stevens will kick off the evening’s ceremony, with questions and insights for the student athletes filling the room.

Following Hines’ Q&A, winners in each category will take home trophies and celebrate their achievement with friends and family.

And the Elite Awards Go To…

While all sports are represented, students who have truly gone above and beyond will be honored for their leadership skills, balance of academic and athletic demands, and for their courage. Coaches of the Year and Athletic Director of the Year will also be recognized.

Each student will have the opportunity to be interviewed on camera about their win after receiving their trophy.

The spring nomination period for HighSchoolOT Honors ends on April 21, and WRAL Sports will confirm five finalists in each category. Finalists will be announced when voting begins on April 29. Ticket sales for the event are anticipated to begin in April as well. Voting ends May 19, and finalists will be invited to the awards ceremony on June 15 at no cost. The spring nomination ballot will also include a sweepstakes for a pair of tickets to attend the awards event.

Special thanks to HighSchoolOT Honors’ presenting sponsor Pella Windows & Doors and supporting sponsors:

Athletes of the Year, Coaches of the Year & Story of the Year: Pella Windows & Doors
Stuart Scott Courage Award & Best Mascot: UNC-TV
Lifetime Achievement Award: Strayer University
Team of the Year: Omega Sports

You can use the form below to let us know you are interested in learning more about ways to get involved with next year’s awards.

HSOT Contact Form

2019 HighSchoolOT Honors Awards

Game of the Year
Story of the Year
Upset of the Year

Best Mascot
Marching Band of the Year
Best Student Section

Players & Coaches
Athlete of the Year (Men’s & Women’s)
Athletic Director of the Year
Basketball (Men’s & Women’s)
Coach of the Year (Men’s & Women’s)
Stuart Scott Courage Award
Cross Country (Men’s & Women’s)
Golf (Men’s & Women’s)
Indoor Track and Field (Men’s & Women’s)
Leadership (Men’s & Women’s)
Lacrosse (Men’s & Women’s)
Soccer (Men’s & Women’s)
Swimming & Diving (Men’s & Women’s)
Tennis (Men’s & Women’s)
Track & Field (Men’s & Women’s)

Download the HighSchoolOT app on iOS and Google Play.

Follow along on social media using #HSOTHonors.

Sign up for our newsletter!

Sign Up Now